2020 SOAR & Superintendent's Awards Named

2020 Soar Award Winners Named For Affton Schools; Superintendent’s Award Also Presented
Posted on 04/23/2020

A record-breaking 35 staff members, volunteers, and community partners were honored at Affton School District’s 24th Annual Service and Outstanding Achievement Recognition (SOAR) Awards on April 22. A special Superintendent’s Award was also presented.

“It is my honor to recognize 35 exceptional individuals that help make Affton strong,” said Patricia Zahn, president of the Affton Board of Education. “These nominees rise above, often working quietly behind the scenes, to make a difference in each of our schools and in our community.”

Eight nominees received the prestigious SOAR Award. They include: 

  • Amra Alibasic, secretary at Mesnier Primary;
  • Colette Book, seventh grade teacher at Rogers Middle School;
  • Jennifer Conway, English language arts teacher at Affton High School; 
  • Stacey Ederer, volunteer;
  • Scott Ellis, eighth grade teacher at Rogers Middle School;
  • Jason Ferguson, maintenance at Affton School District;
  • Tiffany Shelton, secretary at Rogers Middle School; and
  • Amy Todt, ELL teacher at Gotsch Intermediate.

2020 Superintendent's Award WinnersThe Affton School District Administrative Cabinet members received the 2020 Superintendent’s Award for their teamwork, support, and unwavering dedication to the Affton School District, especially in light of the COVID-19 pandemic and our school closure. They include:

  • Marie Burke, Director of Special Education;
  • Erica Chandler, Director of Communications;
  • Dr. Chris Daughtry, Assistant Superintendent;
  • Krista Dieckmann, Director of Accounting;
  • Steven Fedchak, Chief Financial Officer;
  • Adam Jasinski, Director of Technology;
  • Dr. Chris McGee, Executive Director; and
  • Jeff Rooks, Director of Buildings and Grounds.

“This past March, these individuals simply put aside their own plans over weekends and over Spring Break to come together and do what was necessary to ensure that learning and food service for our students could continue,” said Dr. Travis Bracht, superintendent. “Not only did they put plans into place, but they were also personally delivering meals and deploying devices as parents and students drove up to our buildings. They continue to step up and take the lead on anything that needs to be done as we navigate the realities of an extended school closure while remaining resilient and unfailingly supporting me in the hopes that all of our parents, students, staff, and community also feel supported.”

In addition to the eight SOAR Award winners and the winner of the Superintendent’s Award, 27 others were nominated and honored at the ceremony:

  • Nicole Aronoff, SSD Teacher at Gotsch Intermediate;
  • Senjia Arslanovic, Custodian at Affton High School;
  • Jacqueline Beyer, Fifth Grade Teacher at Gotsch Intermediate;
  • Jane Bohn, School Counselor at Affton High School; 
  • Patricia Breid, SSD Teacher Assistant at Mesnier Primary;
  • Julie Cervenka, School Counselor at Affton High School;
  • Elizabeth Cotton, Fourth Grade Teacher at Gotsch Intermediate;
  • Debbie Floyd, Custodian at Affton Early Childhood; 
  • Lynn Hennessy, First Grade Teacher at Mesnier Primary;
  • Kathleen Hollenberg, SSD Teacher at Rogers Middle School; 
  • Rudy Jaeger, volunteer;
  • Natalia Juracsik, Custodian at Mesnier Primary; 
  • Dr. Jon Langhans, Assistant Principal at Affton High School; 
  • Karl Martin, Mechanic at Affton School District;
  • Maria McDermott, Secretary at Affton High School;
  • Sean McDermott, Maintenance at Affton School District;
  • Carol Ann McDonald, Bus Driver at Affton School District;
  • Matt McLaughlin, Food Service at Affton High School;
  • Ron Medley, Before & After Care Coordinator at Gotsch Intermediate;
  • Christine Mosley, volunteer;
  • Elena Parker, Secretary at Affton High School;
  • Taylor Roberts, Before & After Care Facilitator at Affton Early Childhood;
  • Emily Rohman, School Counselor at Gotsch Intermediate;
  • Amber Sinamon, SSD Teacher at Rogers Middle School;
  • Toni Towers, SSD Teacher Assistant at Affton Early Childhood;
  • Sarah Unger, Second Grade Teacher at Mesnier Primary; and
  • Emily Waibel, Third Grade Teacher at Gotsch Intermediate.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.