2018 SOAR & Superintendent Award Winners Named

2018 SOAR & Superintendent Award Winners Named
Posted on 04/19/2018
2018 SOAR Award Winners

Twenty-three staff members, volunteers and community partners were honored at the Affton School District’s 22nd Annual Service and Outstanding Achievement Recognition (SOAR) Awards on April 19. A special Superintendent’s Award was also presented.

“It is my honor to recognize 23 exceptional people that help make Affton strong,” said Tom Bellavia, Affton Board of Education director. “These nominees encompass the excellence of character, performance, leadership, and service inherent to the SOAR Awards. They give of their time, their evenings, their weekends, and they certainly make a difference in each of our schools and in our community.”

Nine nominees received the prestigious SOAR Award. They include: 

  • Jason Buck, principal at Rogers Middle School;
  • Laurie Clark, kindergarten teacher at Mesnier Primary;
  • Nicci Clark, secretary at Rogers Middle School;
  • Brandon Dempsey, owner of goBRANDgo! and STL CAPS mentor;
  • Patty Driscoll, volunteer at Gotsch Intermediate; 
  • Melissa Eckhard, Assistant to the Assistant Superintendent and volunteer;
  • Mary Giunta, College & Career Counselor at Affton High School; 
  • Patrick Kramer, English language arts teacher at Affton High School; and
  • Dr. Christine Powers, principal at Gotsch Intermediate.

Stephanie True, Director of Instructional Programs, received the 2018 Superintendent’s Award for her support of and dedication to the Affton School District.

“Affton Schools is truly fortunate to have someone like Stephanie True on our team. Not only does she champion the district’s mission, she also provides leadership and genuinely wants what’s best for the district, our teachers, and our students,” said Dr. Steve Brotherton, superintendent. “Stephanie has been instrumental in ensuring our teachers and students are supported by a robust curriculum, and I have had the privilege to count her as a coworker and a friend for many years. I admire Stephanie’s remarkable work ethic, and her efforts are integral in helping make us Affton Strong.”

In addition to the nine SOAR Award winners and the winner of the Superintendent’s Award, 14 others were nominated and honored at the ceremony:

  • Margo Balinski, volunteer;
  • Laura Blase, SSD Teacher at Affton Early Childhood;
  • Ray Crites, math teacher at Rogers Middle School;
  • Selim Delic, maintenance at Affton School District;
  • Judy Dunn, Director of Transportation for Affton School District;
  • Amy Garger, volunteer;
  • Linda Huynh, nurse at Gotsch Intermediate; 
  • Matt McLaughlin, food service manager at Rogers Middle School;
  • Cathey Pozzo, SSD Teacher at Gotsch Intermediate;
  • Claire Przygoda, secretary at Mesnier Primary; 
  • Nicole Seckel, Cougar Care supervisor at Mesnier Primary; 
  • Antoinette Towers, SSD teacher assistant at Affton Early Childhood; 
  • Katie Uthoff, Before & After Care facilitator at Affton Early Childhood; and
  • Heather Welte, volunteer.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.